Typhoon free tier limits
Each line below was read on the official page linked next to it, on the date shown. A line older than 30 days says “not verified” instead of the old value.
SCB 10X / Typhoon · Free tier
Free allowance
5req/s · 200 req/min per model
Free tier API for light usage, aimed at startups and prototyping, hosted by Typhoon.
- Card: not stated
- Works with OpenAI code
- Trains on your prompts
- Card to start
- Trains on your data
- Commercial use
- Image input
- Not verified
11 of 12 cells above were read on the provider’s own page in the last 30 days (oldest check: ). Each check mark opens that page. The other 1 say “not verified” instead of repeating a number from someone else’s article.
Models named on this provider page
| Model id | Req / min | Req / day | Tokens / min | Tokens / day | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| typhoon-v2.5-30b-a3b-instruct | 200 | n/a | n/a | n/a | |
| typhoon-v2.1-12b-instruct | 200 | n/a | n/a | n/a |
Table read on · docs.opentyphoon.ai
Getting a Typhoon key
- Sign up on the Typhoon Playground
- Open the API Keys page and create a key (shown once)
- Use base URL https://api.opentyphoon.ai/v1 with an OpenAI client
These steps are a summary of the provider’s console and were not re-walked with a new account; the screens may differ. Open the Typhoon console.
Test the key with one request
- base_url
- https://api.opentyphoon.ai/v1
- model
- typhoon-v2.5-30b-a3b-instruct
- key from
- $TYPHOON_API_KEY
import os
from openai import OpenAI
client = OpenAI(
base_url="https://api.opentyphoon.ai/v1",
api_key=os.environ["TYPHOON_API_KEY"],
)
reply = client.chat.completions.create(
model="typhoon-v2.5-30b-a3b-instruct",
messages=[{"role": "user", "content": "Reply with the word: ok"}],
)
print(reply.choices[0].message.content)The key is read from an environment variable on your machine. This site has no field for keys and never asks for one.
Questions and answers
What are the Typhoon free tier limits?
Free tier: 5 req/s · 200 req/min per model. Requests per minute: 200. Requests per day: not published (The official page we read does not state this). Read on the official page on 19 Oct 2026.
Does Typhoon require a credit card?
not published (Page says to sign up on the Playground to generate a free API key; card not mentioned).
Does Typhoon train on data sent to the free tier?
Yes. For developing and training the Company's AI models, to the extent permitted by law.
Can I use the Typhoon free tier commercially?
not published (Terms allow using Output at own discretion but forbid using it to build competing models; free-tier commercial use not addressed).
Is Typhoon compatible with the OpenAI SDK?
Yes. Set the base URL to https://api.opentyphoon.ai/v1 and the model to an id such as typhoon-v2.5-30b-a3b-instruct.
Related pages
- Free tier tableAll providers, limits and terms in one place.
- No credit cardWhich free tiers start without a card, as stated by the provider.
- OpenAI-compatibleFree endpoints that work with the OpenAI SDK, with base URLs.
- Image inputFree tiers and free models that accept images.
- Commercial useWhat each provider’s terms say about production and paying customers.
- Data and trainingWhether prompts sent on the free tier are used to train models.
- OpenRouter free modelsThe zero-price list from the OpenRouter API, with collection time.
- ChangesFree tiers that were cut, retired or changed, each with its source.