Groq
by Groq, Inc.
Free allowance
1,000requests a day
30 requests a minute
- Card: not stated
- Works with OpenAI code
- Accepts images
Limits checked on
Compare by question
9 providers of AI language models (LLMs) side by side: how much each one gives away, whether it asks for a credit card, and what it does with your prompts.
9 of 9 providers
by Groq, Inc.
Free allowance
1,000requests a day
30 requests a minute
by Google
Free allowance
Not published
Limits are per project and shown only inside Google AI Studio.
by OpenRouter, Inc.
Free allowance
50requests a day
20 requests a minute
by Cloudflare, Inc.
Free allowance
10,000Neurons/day
Resets at 00:00 UTC. Going above it needs Workers Paid ($0.011 per 1,000 Neurons).
by Hugging Face
Free allowance
$0.10of credits/month
Listed as “subject to change”. Past it, usage needs purchased credits.
by NVIDIA
Free allowance
Not published
The product page publishes no rate limit and no credit amount.
by Cerebras Systems
Trial allowance
$5trial credit, 30 days
Granted “after adding a verified payment method”.
by GitHub
Free allowance
No longer offered
Service retired on 30 July 2026.
by Mistral AI
Free allowance
Not confirmed
No official page we could read describes a free tier.
Showing 9 of 9 providers. The large number is what the provider’s own page promised on the date under it. “Not published” means the page gives no figure; we do not borrow one from elsewhere. See every limit in one table
The same providers, line by line. Each value has a check mark with the day it was read: tap it to open the official page.
| Provider | Free allowance | Requests / min | Requests / day | Card to start | Trains on your data | Commercial use | OpenAI SDK | Image input |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GroqFree tier | Not verified | |||||||
| Google Gemini APIFree tier | ||||||||
| OpenRouterFree tier | Not verified | |||||||
| Cloudflare Workers AIFree tier | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | |||||
| Hugging Face Inference ProvidersFree tier | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | ||||
| NVIDIA NIMFree tier | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | ||||
| CerebrasTrial only | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | |||||
| GitHub ModelsRetired | ||||||||
| Mistral La PlateformeNot confirmed | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified |
74 of 108 cells above were read on the provider’s own page in the last 30 days (oldest check: ). Each check mark opens that page. The other 34 say “not verified” instead of repeating a number from someone else’s article.
The answer uses only what each provider’s own page confirms today.
Confirmed on the official pages for what you asked:
A provider is left out only when its own page contradicts what you asked. Speed is not a question here because we do not measure it.
Providers with a compatible endpoint take the same code. Switch the provider: only the base URL, the model id and the name of the key variable change. Base URLs side by side
import os
from openai import OpenAI
client = OpenAI(
base_url="https://api.groq.com/openai/v1",
api_key=os.environ["GROQ_API_KEY"],
)
reply = client.chat.completions.create(
model="openai/gpt-oss-120b",
messages=[{"role": "user", "content": "Reply with the word: ok"}],
)
print(reply.choices[0].message.content)The key is read from an environment variable on your machine. This site has no field for keys and never asks for one.
One page per question, each with the providers that confirm the answer.
Free tiers get cut, turned into trials or retired. Each entry links to the page that confirms it.
Three steps stand behind every value on this site.
Rate-limit, pricing and terms pages of each provider. No blog posts, no forum threads.
Every value keeps the address it was read on and the date, and shows both next to it.
A value nobody re-read turns into “not verified” by itself, in your browser.
Four things that change what a “free” number is worth.
Groq and OpenRouter count requests. Groq also counts tokens per minute and per day, and for chat that is the limit you hit first. Cloudflare counts Neurons, its own unit of compute. Hugging Face gives a monthly credit in dollars. Two free tiers cannot be ranked by one number; compare each against the traffic you expect.
Google applies Gemini API limits per project, not per key. OpenRouter counts all free model variants of an account together. Creating more keys does not multiply a free allowance.
A free tier is paid for in some other way: with your prompts, as on the Gemini API free tier, where content is used to improve Google products; or with a restriction, as on NVIDIA NIM, where free access stops at production. Read the data and commercial-use columns before the rate limit.
GitHub Models was retired on 30 July 2026. Cerebras now describes a 30-day trial with a payment method where older articles describe a free tier. Keep the provider behind configuration, with a second one ready, and follow the change log.
What people ask before they pick a free tier.
On 3 Oct 2026 we confirmed a free offer on the official pages of Groq, Google Gemini API, OpenRouter, Cloudflare Workers AI, Hugging Face Inference Providers, NVIDIA NIM. Cerebras lists a 30-day trial with a payment method instead of a recurring free tier, and GitHub Models was retired on 30 July 2026.
Every cell has a check mark with the day it was read and a link to the provider’s page. After 30 days without a new check, the cell stops showing the value as current and says “not verified”. Your browser makes that calculation from today’s date.
Because the provider’s own page does not state the value. Google, for example, does not list free-tier limits per model: its rate-limits page says they can be viewed in Google AI Studio. We print that instead of a figure taken from a third-party article.
No. There is no field for a key anywhere on this site. The code sample reads the key from an environment variable on your computer.
Rarely. Free limits are low, can change without notice, and some terms exclude production: NVIDIA limits free NIM access to development, testing, research and evaluation, and Google requires paid services for apps offered to users in the EEA, Switzerland or the UK. Check the commercial-use column before building on one.
It is read from the OpenRouter models API by a scheduled job once a day, and each page shows the collection time in UTC. The copy on this page was collected on 3 Oct 2026 and lists 22 zero-price models, 17 of them with an id ending in “:free”.